Spécifications

Fonction

Détails

Module de charge

  • LSM1000XMVDC16-01
  • LSM1000XMVDC12-01
  • LSM1000XMVDC8-01
  • LSM1000XMVDC4-01

Type de connecteur

RJ45 ou SFP

Nombre maxi. de ports par châssis

  • XGS12-SD : 192
  • XGS12-HS : 192
  • XG12 : 192
  • XGS2-SD : 32
  • XGS2-HS : 32
  • XM2 Desktop : 32

Vitesse de connexion

Auto-négociation Ethernet 10/100/1000 Mbits/s sur ligne cuivre et Ethernet Gigabit Fiber et 100Base-FX sur fibre

CPU/mémoire par port

800 MHz/1 Go

Nombre de ports par modèle

16/12/8/4

Protocole de routage des couches 2/3 et émulation

Oui

Test du trafic des applications des couches 4 à 7

Oui

Pontage de centre de données (DCB) avec prise en charge FCoE et PFC

Oui

Tampon de capture par port

64 Mo

Nombre de transmissions de flux par port (valeurs séquentielles)

Milliards

Nombre de transmissions de flux par port (valeurs arbitraires)

98 000

Nombre de réceptions de flux autorisant le suivi par port

512 000

Nombre de définitions de flux par port

4 096[1]

Moteur de transmission

Génération de paquets à la vitesse du câble, avec horodatages, numéros de séquence, signature d'intégrité des données et signatures de groupe de paquets

Moteur de réception

Filtrage des paquets, capture, latence en temps réel pour chaque vérification de groupe de paquets, d'intégrité des données et de séquence.

Fonctions de champs définis par l'utilisateur (UDF)

Fixe, incrément ou décrément par étape définie par l'utilisateur, listes des valeurs, listes des plages, cascade, aléatoire et en chaîne.

Fonction UDF de tableau

Fonction complète de modification des paquets pour l'émulation d'un grand nombre de flux complexes Les modules LSM1000XMVDC prennent en charge jusqu'à 98 000 entrées de champs définis par l'utilisateur (UDF).

Filtres

Adresse source/cible 48 bits, modèle et décalage 2 x 128 bits définissable par l'utilisateur, plage de longueurs de trame, erreur CRC, erreur d'intégrité des données, erreur de contrôle de séquence (petite, grosse, inversée)

Champ de données (par flux)

Fixe, incrément (octet/mot), décrément (octet/mot), aléatoire, répétition, défini par l'utilisateur jusqu'à 13 Ko.

Statistiques et vitesses

État de liaison, vitesse de liaison, trames envoyées, trames valides reçues, octets envoyés/reçus, fragments, sous-dimensionné, sur-dimensionné, erreurs CRC, trames balisées VLAN, statistique 1 définie par l'utilisateur, statistique 2 définie par l'utilisateur, déclencheur de capture (UDS 3), filtre de capture (UDS 4), statistique 5 définie par l'utilisateur, statistique 6 définie par l'utilisateur, 8 compteurs de contrôle qualité, trames d'intégrité des données, Erreurs d'intégrité des données, Bits PRBS BER, PRBS avec erreur et Bits PRBS reçus, Trames de contrôle de séquence, Erreurs de contrôle de séquence, ARP et demandes et réponses de ping

Génération d'erreurs

CRC (correct/incorrect/aucun), Sous-dimensionnement, Sur-dimensionnement.

Statistiques de flux de paquets

Statistiques en temps réel avec suivi de jusqu'à 128 000 flux de paquets sur le LSM1000XMVDC 16/12/8/4 et mesures de débit et de latence.

Mesures de latence

Résolution : 20 ns

IPv4, IPv6, UDP, TCP

Génération de somme de contrôle matérielle

Contrôles de longueur de trame

Fixe, aléatoire, aléatoire pondéré ou incrément par étape définie par l'utilisateur, aléatoire, aléatoire pondéré.

Plage de températures de fonctionnement

5°C à 30°C (41°F to 86°F), air ambiant[2]

Prise en charge des applications

Application

Détails

Application - IxExplorer™

Application complète de test de génération et d'analyse de trafic des couches 2-3 Ethernet haut débit, avec prise en charge complète des tests de fonctionnement et d'évolutivité FCoE sans état. Les fonctions FCoE et FCoE Initialization Protocol (FIP) permettent de tester les commutateurs FCoE qui exécutent à la fois du trafic FCoE et du trafic Ethernet classique. IxExplorer est inclus dans l'achat de tout châssis Ixia.

Application - IxLoad™

Fournit une solution évolutive pour le test des services multiplay convergés et des plateformes de mise à disposition d'applications. IxLoad émule les protocoles d'abonnés données, voix et vidéo et associés pour tester les performances et peut également générer du trafic malveillant pour tester la sécurité.

Application - IxNetwork™

IxNetwork génère du trafic à la vitesse du câble avec modélisation des services pour du trafic de plan de données réaliste, contrôlable de manière dynamique. IxNetwork offre la meilleure solution du secteur pour tester le fonctionnement et les performances grâce à l'émulation complète des protocoles de routage, MPLS, VPLS, haute disponibilité, IP multicast, commutation, Ethernet opérateur, large bande et DCB (Data Center Bridging).

 

Génération flexible des paquets

Chaque port de test Ixia GE XMVDC est en mesure de générer du trafic réseau allant jusqu'à la vitesse du câble et contrôlé avec précision via l'application de test Ixia IxExplorer. Des millions de flux de paquets peuvent être configurés sur chaque port et les champs d'en-tête des paquets sont entièrement personnalisables. Un contrôle d'en-tête flexible est disponible pour Ethernet, IPv4/v6, IPX, ARP, TCP, UDP, VLANs, QinQ, MPLS, GRE et bien d'autres. Le contenu de charge utile est également personnalisable par incrémentation/décrémentation, valeur fixe, aléatoire ou informations définies par l'utilisateur. Les tailles de trame peuvent être fixes, variables selon un modèle ou attribuées de façon aléatoire en fonction d'une fourchette pondérée. Le contrôle de débit peut être librement défini en trames par seconde, bits par seconde, pourcentage de vitesse de ligne ou intervalle entre paquets.

Latence en temps réel

Des paquets représentant différents profils de trafic peuvent être reliés à des identificateurs de groupe de paquets (PGID). Le port de réception mesure en temps réel les latences minimale, maximale et moyenne de chaque paquet membre des différents groupes. Les latences mesurables comprennent :

  • Latence instantanée et intervalle d'arrivée, chaque paquet étant associé à un identifiant de groupe
  • Bins de latence, où des PGID peuvent être associés à une plage de latences
  • Latence au fil du temps, où il est possible de placer plusieurs PGID dans des « compartiments » de durées fixes
  • Premier et dernier horodatages, où chaque PGID peut stocker les premier et dernier paquets reçus

Planificateur de transmission

Deux modes de transmission sont disponibles : Planificateur de flux de paquets et Planificateur de flux avancé :

Planificateur de flux de paquets

En mode Planificateur de flux de paquets, le moteur de transmission permet de configurer jusqu'à 256 groupes de flux séquentiels uniques sur chaque port. Il est possible de définir plusieurs flux dans une séquence, contenant chacune plusieurs flux de paquets répondant à des caractéristiques uniques. Lorsque tous les paquets du premier flux ont été transmis, le contrôle passe au prochain flux défini dans la séquence. Lorsque le dernier flux de la séquence est atteint, soit la transmission s'arrête, soit le contrôle passe à un autre flux de la séquence. Plusieurs flux représentant les différents profils devant simuler le trafic réel s'enchaînent ainsi.

Planificateur de flux avancé

En mode Planificateur de flux avancé, la transmission des regroupements de flux est entrelacée par port. Supposons par exemple que la configuration d'un port comprenne trois flux. Si le Flux 1 est défini avec des paquets IP à 20 % de la vitesse de ligne, le Flux 2 avec des paquets TCP à 50 % de la vitesse de ligne et le Flux 3 avec des paquets MPLS à 30 % de la vitesse de ligne, les données du port sont alors transmises pour une utilisation cumulée de 100 % avec entrelacement de paquets IP, TCP et MPLS.

Statistiques étendues

  • Nombres et vitesses de trames 64 bits en temps réel
  • Présentation au format feuille de calcul facilitant la manipulation des compteurs de statistiques
  • Huit compteurs de qualité de service (prenant en charge les mesures TOS 802.1p, DSCP et IPv4)
  • Six statistiques définies par l'utilisateur (UDS), avec une condition de déclenchement
  • Statistiques étendues pour ARP, ICMP et DHCP
  • Statistiques PRBS avec calcul du Taux d'erreurs sur les bits
  • Statistiques de transmission de flux (nombre de trames et vitesse)
  • Journalisation des statistiques et alertes dans des fichiers externes
  • Alertes visuelles et sonores avec seuils définissables par l'utilisateur

Capture de données

Chaque port est doté de 64 Mo de mémoire de capture, capable de stocker des dizaines de milliers de paquets en temps réel. Le tampon de capture peut être configuré pour stocker les paquets en fonction de conditions de filtrage et de déclenchement, définies par l'utilisateur. Des algorithmes de décodage sont fournis pour IPv4, IPv6, UDP, ARP, BGP-4, IS-IS, OSPF, TCP, DHCP, IPX, RIP, IGMP, CISCO ISL, VLAN et MPLS.

Intégrité des données

À mesure que les paquets traversent les réseaux, le contenu de l'en-tête IP peut changer suite au nouveau calcul des valeurs CRC des paquets. Pour valider les performances des périphériques, la fonction d'intégrité des données des modules Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC autorise la vérification du contenu de la charge utile des paquets via un contrôle CRC unique, indépendant du CRC du paquet. Il est ainsi certain que la modification des champs d'en-tête ne perturbe pas la charge utile.

Contrôle de séquence et de paquet en double

Des numéros de séquence peuvent être insérés au niveau du décalage défini par l'utilisateur dans la charge utile de chaque paquet transmis. À réception des paquets par le périphérique testé (DUT), les erreurs de déclassement ou de paquets en double sont signalées en temps réel à la vitesse du câble. L'utilisateur peut définir un seuil d'erreur de séquence afin de faire la différence entre les erreurs petites ou grosses, et le port de réception peut mesurer les erreurs petites, grosses, inversées et totales. L'utilisateur a également la possibilité d'exploiter le mode de détection des paquets en double pour voir si plusieurs paquets associés au même numéro de séquence sont reçus et analysés.

Émulation des protocoles de routage/pontage

Les modules Ixia Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC prennent en charge les tests de performances et de fonctionnement via l'émulation des protocoles de routage/pontage et les applications IxNetwork et IxAutomate. Les protocoles pris en charge incluent : IEEE1588v2 PTP (Precision Time Protocol) et l'émulation du routage/pontage y compris RIP, RIPng, OSPFv2/v3, ISISv4/v6, EIGRP, EIGRPv6, BGP-4,BGP+, RSVP-TE, RSVP-TE P2MP, LDP, mLDP, PWE, L3 MPLS VPN, 6VPE, MPLS-TP, MPLS-OAM, 6PE, BGP auto-discovery with LDP FEC 129 Support, VPLS-LDP, VPLS-BGP, BFD, IGMPv1/v2/v3, MLDv1/v2, PIM-SM/SSM, PIM-BSR, multicast VPN, VPNv6, STP/RSTP, MSTP, PVST+/RPVST+, agrégation de liens (LACP), fonction OAM de lien, CFM, fonction OAM de service, PBT/PBB-TE, ESMC, PTP, E-LMI, ANCP, PPPoX, DHCPv4 client/serveur, DHCPv6 client/serveur, L2TPv2, attributs radius pour L2TP, 802.1x, WebAuth, Cisco NAC, PFC, FCoE/ FIP, LLDP/DCBX et VNTAG/VIC.

IxNetwork offre les fonctions de personnalisation et la flexibilité requises pour répondre au large éventail d'exigences régissant le test des topologies réseau complexes dotées de milliers de périphériques. L'émulation peut porter sur des millions d'itinéraires et d'hôtes accessibles. Pour tester les performances du plan de données sous fortes contraintes, IxNetwork est à même de personnaliser des millions de flux de trafic. De puissants assistants de type interface graphique et commandes de grille permettent de créer avec aisance des flux de trafic complexes. Ses capacités d'analyse et de statistique en temps réel fournissent des mesures détaillées et exhaustives sur l'état des protocoles et les performances du trafic par flux.

Test des performances de la couche d'applications

Les modules Ixia Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC prennent en charge les tests de performances des réseaux et périphériques conscients du contenu via l'application IxLoad. IxLoad crée des scénarios de trafic réalistes au niveau des couches TCP/UDP (Couche 4) et application (Couche 7), en émulant des clients et des serveurs pour les protocoles Web (HTTP, SSL), P2P, FTP, e-mail (SMTP, POP3, IMAP), streaming (RTP, RTSP), vidéo (MPEG2, MPEG4, IGMP and RSTP), voix (SIP, H.323, H.248, SCCP et MGCP) et les services d'infrastructure tels que DNS, DHCP, LDAP, AAA et Telnet. Le test des plateformes de sécurité peut s'effectuer par le biais de mécanismes d'authentification L2/L3 intégrés, comme 802.1x et NAC, et en générant du trafic malveillant pour tester la sécurité. Chaque port 1GbE XMVDC peut être configuré indépendamment pour exécuter différents protocoles et scénarios clients/serveurs.

API Tcl

Les modules Ixia Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC sont pris en charge par une Interface de programmation d'applications (API) Tcl complète. Cette API permet aux utilisateurs de créer des scripts personnalisés et d'intégrer les modules dans des environnements de tests automatisés.


[1]IxNetwork version 5.40EA ou une version ultérieure est requise pour prendre en charge 4 096 flux par port.

[2]La température maximale de fonctionnement de ces modules de charge limite celle du châssis XM2 (941-0023) à une température inférieure.

PRINCIPALES CARACTÉRISTIQUES
  • Test complet du fonctionnement des réseaux et des applications dans un même système de test
  • Génération flexible des paquets
  • Latence en temps réel
  • Planificateur de transmission avancé
  • Statistiques étendues
  • Vaste tampon de capture des données
  • Contrôle de l'intégrité des données
  • Contrôle de séquence et de paquet en double
  • Émulation avancée des protocoles de routage/commutation/centre de données/large bande
  • Test des performances de la couche d'applications (L4-7)
  • Prise en charge de l'API Tcl et de l'automatisation

Les modules de services LAN (LSM) Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC réunissent toutes les fonctions de test du réseau et des applications des couches 2 à 7 dans un même système de test. Chaque port de test prend en charge la génération et l'analyse de trafic de couches 2 et 3, l'émulation des protocoles de routage/pontage hautes performances, la génération de véritable trafic d'applications des couches 4 à 7 et l'émulation d'abonnés. Le fait de disposer de 16 ports Dual-PHY par module vous permet de créer des environnements de test à ultra haute densité pour les réseaux 10/100/1000 Mbits/s à auto-négociation sur ligne cuivre et Ethernet Gigabit Fiber et 100Base-FX sur fibre. Un unique châssis Ixia à 12 slots prend en charge jusqu'à 192 ports de test Gigabit Ethernet.

La possibilité de tester les réseaux Ethernet convergés des centres de données de prochaine génération, souvent appelés pontages de centre de données (DCB), implique que le système de test Ixia prenne en charge le protocole FCoE (Fibre channel over Ethernet) et le contrôle de flux de priorité (PFC) IEEE 8021.Qbb. Les modules de charge XMVDC incluent la prise en charge intégrée des protocoles FCoE et PFC. D'autres protocoles tels que FIP et LLDP/DCBx prennent en charge le test des périphériques réseau chargés de recevoir et de transmettre le trafic Ethernet et FCoE sur le même port (en particulier lorsqu'un centre de données compatible DCB contient un réseau de stockage Fibre Channel). Le pontage DCB est une extension d'Ethernet qui garantit la fiabilité de cette liaison de transport dans un centre de données convergé.

Chaque port d'un module 1GbE XMVDC contient un puissant processeur RISC exécutant Linux et une pile TCP/IP complète optimisée pour les tests. Cette architecture offre des performances et une flexibilité sans précédent en matière de test des routeurs, commutateurs, périphériques d'accès large bande et sans fil, serveurs Web, serveurs vidéo, passerelles sécurisées, pare-feu et bien d'autres périphériques réseau et conscients des applications.

Proposés en configurations pleines performances à 4, 8, 12 et 16 ports, les modules de services LAN (LSM) Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC d'Ixia assurent l'évolutivité et la rentabilité requises pour une vaste gamme d'exigences de test.

Specifications

Feature

Details

Load module

  • LSM1000XMVDC16-01
  • LSM1000XMVDC12-01
  • LSM1000XMVDC8-01
  • LSM1000XMVDC4-01

Connector type

RJ45 or SFP

Maximum ports per chassis

  • XGS12-SD: 192
  • XGS12-HS: 192
  • XG12: 192
  • XGS2-SD: 32
  • XGS2-HS: 32
  • XM2 Desktop: 32

Connection speed

Auto-negotiable 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet over copper and gigabit fiber and100Base-FX Ethernet over fiber

Port CPU/memory per port

800MHz /1GB

Number of ports per model

16/12/8/4

Layer 2-3 routing protocol and emulation

Yes

Layer 4–7 application traffic testing

Yes

Data center bridging with FCoE and PFC support

Yes

Capture buffer per port

64MB

Number of transmit flows per port (sequential values)

Billions

Number of transmit flows per port (arbitrary values)

98K

Number of trackable receive flows per port

512K

Number of stream definitions per port

4096[1]

Transmit engine

Wire-speed packet generation with timestamps, sequence numbers, data integrity signature, and packet group signatures.

Receive engine

Wire-speed packet filtering, capturing, real-time latency for each packet group, data integrity, and sequence checking.

User defined field (UDF) features

Fixed, increment, or decrement by user-defined step, value lists, range lists, cascade, random, and chained.

Table UDF feature

Comprehensive packet editing function for emulating large numbers of sophisticated flows. Up to 98K table UDF entries are supported on the LSM1000XMVDC modules.

Filters

48-bit source/destination address, 2x128-bit user-definable pattern and offset, frame length range, CRC error, data integrity error, sequence checking error (small, big, reverse).

Data field (per stream)

Fixed, increment (byte/word), decrement (byte/word), random, repeating, user-specified up to 13K bytes.

Statistics and rates
(counter size: 64-Bit)

Link State, Line Speed, Frames Sent, Valid Frames Received, Bytes Sent/Received, Fragments, Undersize, Oversize, CRC Errors, VLAN Tagged Frames, User-Defined Stat 1, User- Defined Stat 2, Capture Trigger (UDS 3), Capture filter (UDS 4), User-Defined Stat 5, User-Defined Stat 6, 8 QoS counters, Data Integrity Frames, Data Integrity Errors, PRBS BER, PRBS Errored Bits, and PRBS Bits Received, Sequence Checking Frames, Sequence Checking Errors, ARP, and Ping requests and replies.

Error generation

CRC (Good/Bad/None), Undersize, Oversize.

Packet flow statistics

Real-time statistics to track up to 128K packet flows on the LSM1000XMVDC 16/12/8/4 with throughput and latency measurements.

Latency measurements

20ns resolution

IPv4, IPv6, UDP, TCP

Hardware checksum generation

Frame length controls

Fixed, random, weighted random, or increment by user-defined step, random, weighted random.

Operating temperature range

41°F to 86°F (5°C to 30°C), ambient air[2]

Applications Support

Application

Details

Application - IxExplorer™

A full-featured layer 2-3 wire-speed Ethernet traffic generation and analysis test application with full support for stateless FCoE functional and scalability testing. The FCoE and FCoE Initialization Protocol (FIP) features allow testing of FCoE switches running both FCoE traffic and traditional Ethernet traffic. IxExplorer is included with the purchase of all Ixia chassis.

Application - IxLoad™

Provides a scalable solution for testing converged multiplay services and application delivery platforms. IxLoad emulates data, voice, and video subscribers and associated protocols for performance testing as well as the ability to generate malicious traffic to test for security.

Application - IxNetwork™

IxNetwork provides wire-rate traffic generation with service modeling that builds realistic, dynamically-controllable data-plane traffic. IxNetwork offers the industry's best test solution for functional and performance testing by using comprehensive emulation for routing, MPLS, VPLS, high-availability, IP multicast, switching, carrier Ethernet, broadband, and DCB protocols.

 

Flexible Packet Generation

Each Ixia GE XMVDC test port is capable of generating precisely-controlled network traffic at up to wire speed using Ixia’s IxExplorer test application. Millions of packet flows can be configured on each port with fully customizable packet header fields. Flexible header control is available for Ethernet, IPv4/v6, IPX, ARP, TCP, UDP, VLANs, QinQ, MPLS, GRE, and many others. Payload contents can also be customized with incrementing/decrementing, fixed, random, or user-defined information. Frame sizes can be fixed, varied according to a pattern, or randomly assigned across a weighted range. Rate control can be flexibly defined in frames per second, bits per second, percentage of line rate, or inter-packet gap time.

Real-Time Latency

Packets representing different traffic profiles can be associated with packet group identifiers (PGIDs). The receiving port measures the minimum, maximum, and average latency in real time for each packet belonging to different groups. Measurable latencies include:

  • Instantaneous latency and inter-arrival time where each packet is associated with one group ID
  • Latency bins, where PGIDs can be associated with a latency range
  • Latency over time, where multiple PGIDs can be placed in "time buckets" with fixed durations
  • First and last time stamps, where each PGID can store the timestamps of first and last received packets

Transmit Scheduler

There are two modes of transmission available - Packet Stream and Advanced Stream Scheduler:

Packet Stream Scheduler

In Packet Stream Scheduler mode, the transmit engine allows configuration of up to 256 unique sequential stream groupings on each port. Multiple streams can be defined in sequence, each containing multiple packet flows defined by unique characteristics. After transmission of all packets in the first stream, control is passed to the next defined stream in the sequence. After reaching the last stream in the sequence, transmission may either cease, or control may be passed on to any other stream in the sequence. Therefore, multiple streams are cycled through, representing different traffic profiles to simulate real network traffic.

Advanced Stream Scheduler

In Advanced Stream Scheduler mode, the transmission of stream groupings is interleaved per port. For example, assume a port is configured with three streams. If Stream 1 is defined with IP packets at 20% of line rate, Stream 2 is defined with TCP packets at 50% of line rate, and Stream 3 is defined with MPLS packets at 30% of line rate, data on the port will be transmitted at an aggregate utilization of 100% with interleaved IP, TCP, and MPLS packets.

Extensive Statistics

  • Real-time 64-bit frame counts and rates
  • Spreadsheet presentation format for convenient manipulation of statistics counters
  • Eight quality of service counters (supporting 802.1p, DSCP, and IPv4 TOS measurements)
  • Six user-defined statistics that use a trigger condition
  • Extended statistics for ARP, ICMP, and DHCP
  • PRBS statistics with Bit Error Ratio calculation
  • Transmit stream statistics for frame counts and rate
  • External logging to file for statistics and alerts
  • Audible and visual alerts with user-definable thresholds

Data Capture

Each port is equipped with 64 MB of capture memory, capable of storing tens of thousands of packets in real time. The capture buffer can be configured to store packets based on user-defined trigger and filter conditions. Decodes for IPv4, IPv6, UDP, ARP, BGP-4, IS-IS, OSPF, TCP, DHCP, IPX, RIP, IGMP, CISCO ISL, VLAN, and MPLS are provided.

Data Integrity

As packets traverse through networks, IP header contents may change resulting in the recalculation of packet CRC values. To validate device performance, the data integrity function of Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC modules allows packet payload contents to be verified with a unique CRC that is independent of the packet CRC. This ensures that the payload is not disturbed as the device changes header fields.

Sequence and Duplicate Packet Checking

Sequence numbers can be inserted at a user-defined offset in the payload of each transmitted packet. Upon receipt of the packets by the device under test (DUT), out-of-sequence errors or duplicated packets are reported in real time at wire-speed rates. The user can define a sequence error threshold to distinguish between small versus big errors, and the receive port can measure the amount of small, big, reversed, and total errors. Alternatively, the user can use the duplicate packet detection mode to observe that multiple packets with the same sequence number are received and analyzed.

Routing/Bridging Protocol Emulation

Ixia's Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC modules support performance and functionality testing using routing/bridging protocol emulation via the IxNetwork and IxAutomate applications. Protocols supported include: IEEE1588v2 precision time protocol (PTP), and routing/bridging emulation including RIP, RIPng, OSPFv2/v3, ISISv4/v6, EIGRP, EIGRPv6, BGP-4,BGP+, RSVP-TE, RSVP-TE P2MP, LDP, mLDP, PWE, L3 MPLS VPN, 6VPE, MPLS-TP, MPLS-OAM, 6PE, BGP auto-discovery with LDP FEC 129 Support, VPLS-LDP, VPLS-BGP, BFD, IGMPv1/v2/v3, MLDv1/v2, PIM-SM/SSM, PIM-BSR, multicast VPN, VPNv6, STP/RSTP, MSTP, PVST+/RPVST+, link aggregation (LACP), link OAM, CFM, service OAM, PBT/PBB-TE, ESMC, PTP, E-LMI, ANCP, PPPoX, DHCPv4 client/server, DHCPv6 client/server, L2TPv2, radius attributes for L2TP, 802.1x, WebAuth, Cisco NAC, PFC, FCoE/ FIP, LLDP/DCBX, and VNTAG/VIC.

IxNetwork offers the customization and flexibility to meet the wide range of requirements necessary for testing complex network topologies with thousands of network devices. Millions of routes and reachable hosts can be emulated. IxNetwork can customize millions of traffic flows to stress data plane performance. Powerful GUI wizards and grid controls allow you to create sophisticated traffic flows with ease. Its enhanced real-time analysis and statistics are capable of reporting comprehensive protocol status and detailed per-flow traffic performance metrics.

Application Layer Performance Testing

Ixia's Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC modules support performance testing of content-aware devices and networks via the IxLoad application. IxLoad creates real-world traffic scenarios at the TCP/UDP (Layer 4) and application (Layer 7) layers, emulating clients and servers for web (HTTP, SSL), P2P, FTP, email (SMTP, POP3, IMAP), streaming (RTP, RTSP), video (MPEG2, MPEG4, IGMP and RSTP), voice (SIP, H.323, H.248, SCCP and MGCP), and infrastructure services such as DNS, DHCP, LDAP, AAA, and Telnet. Security platforms can be tested with integrated L2/L3 authentication mechanisms such as 802.1x and NAC, as well generated malicious traffic to test for security. Each 1GbE XMVDC port can be independently configured to run different protocols and client/server scenarios.

Tcl API

Ixia's Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC modules are supported by a comprehensive Tcl application programming interface (API). This API allows users to develop custom scripts and integrate the modules into automated test environments.


[1]IxNetwork version 5.40EA or higher version is required to support 4096 streams per port.

[2]The maximum operating temperature for these load modules lowers the maximum operating temperature of the XM2 chassis (941-0023).

Key Features
  • Complete Layer 2-7 network and application testing functionality in a single test system
  • Flexible Packet Generation
  • Real-Time Latency
  • Adavanced Transmit Scheduler
  • Extensive Statistics
  • Large Data Capture Buffer
  • Data Integrity check
  • Sequence and Duplicate Packet Checking
  • Extensive Routing/Bridging/DataCenter/Broadband Protocol Emulation
  • Application Layer Performance Testing (L4-7)
  • Tcl API and automation support

Ixia's Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC LAN Services Modules (LSMs) offer complete Layer 2-7 network and application testing functionality in a single test system. Each test port supports wire-speed Layer 2-3 traffic generation and analysis, high performance routing/bridging protocol emulation, and true Layer 4-7 application traffic generation and subscriber emulation. With 16 Dual-PHY ports per module, you can create ultra-high density test environments for auto-negotiable 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet over copper as well as Gigabit Fiber and 100Base-FX Ethernet over fiber. Up to 192 Gigabit Ethernet test ports are supported in a single 12-slot Ixia chassis.

The ability to test converged Ethernet networks in next-generation data centers, often referred to as data center bridging (DCB), requires the Ixia test system to support the fibre channel over Ethernet (FCoE) protocol and IEEE 8021.Qbb priority-based flow control (PFC). The XMVDC load modules include built-in support for FCoE and PFC. Additional protocols such as FIP and LLDP/DCBx support the testing of network devices that must receive and forward both Ethernet and FCoE traffic on the same port (especially when a fibre channel storage network is part of a DCB-capable data center). DCB is an extension of Ethernet that makes Ethernet a reliable transport link in a converged data center.

Each port on a 1GE XMVDC module contains a powerful RISC processor running Linux and a full, testing-optimized TCP/IP stack. This architecture provides unprecedented performance and flexibility for testing routers, switches, broadband and wireless access devices, web servers, video servers, secure gateways, firewalls, and many other networking and application-aware devices.

Ixia's Gigabit Ethernet XMVDC LAN Services Modules are offered in 4, 8, 12, and 16 port full-performance configurations, providing scalability and affordability for a diverse range of test requirements.