什么是可视性即服务(VAAS)?

无论在公共云、私有云、分支机构、校园或数据中心,可视性即服务均可使IT组织按需访问整个基础设施内的网络流量。

网络可视性对于您的网络及网络中各种应用的性能和安全至关重要。不过,访问网络进而利用数据流可能并非易事。当工作负载迁移至公共云后,可视性有可能会丧失殆尽。为有效解决此问题,可视性即服务应运而生,旨在实现对任何网络部署、尤其是公共云的轻松访问。

Visibility-as-a-Service
为什么需要可视性即服务(VAAS)?

IT组织选择可视性即服务的原因:

  1. 根据运营支出或资本支出更好地管理预算;即便在运营支出模式下,可视性即服务也能交付如内部网络一般的精细可视性。
  2. 享受随用随付和仅消费时支付的服务。
  3. 轻松实现可视性解决方案的向上及向下扩展,以更好满足当前需求。

VaaS Benefits

Public Cloud Shift

公共云可视性挑战

可视性是提供应用程序、网络性能监控以及安全和故障检修服务的基础。在传统数据中心内,IT组织利用网络分路器和旁路交换机(以太网/光纤)来获得数据包可视性。此外,数据包中转设备也可用于高级数据包分析。

企业级应用目前正在经历深刻转变,即从传统数据中心向公共云迁移。而在如此多元化环境中实现可视性进而安全性已成为一种巨大挑战。一项商业调查表明,平均而言,每家公司采用了10-16项云应用。随着各种云端应用纷纷涌现,越来越多的数据正从传统数据中心向外迁出。

IT组织必须关注实例及其应用的安全性和合规性,而确保这一目标的最佳途径就是云可视性解决方案。可视性即服务能够帮助各企业机构以弹性和可扩展的方式查看公共云网络流量。

公共云中的网络盲点

安全性要求所有流量均有效运行。而公共云有可能为传统可视性带来盲点。此外,可视性即服务的实施方式能为IT部门创造显著效益。

Blindspots in the public cloud

您的可视性即服务应采取基础设施即服务还是软件即服务?

在选择可视性即服务解决方案时,实施架构对IT组织的努力及所需资源有重大影响。一些可视性即服务解决方案以基础设施即服务模式来实施。为此,IT组织必须安装和配置可视性解决方案,并确保其在虚拟机内的正常运行时间。须监控的云流量被传输至虚拟机,而这将短时间内增加占用的带宽及IT组织向云服务提供商支付的费用。

软件即服务模式是一种更加简便的方式,它对IT安装、维护及运行时间的要求极少。选择基于软件即服务的可视性即服务可实现一种适用于任意平台、可扩展且随时随地独立访问的部署。无论您选择了Amazon Web Services、Microsoft Azure还是Google Cloud,您都能获得一致体验。而且,其架构能从源码实例中过滤数据并仅向安全、性能或分析工具发送必要的数据包或元数据,因此大大减少了云带宽使用量,显著节省了IT成本。

IaaS versus SaaS models

CLOUDLENS PUBLIC:软件即服务可视性解决方案

How CloudLens Works: CloudLens Public Architecture

 

CloudLens Public可提供以软件即服务模式实施的可视性即服务。CloudLens Public采用无主机架构,包括两个部分:带网页界面的软件即服务(可管理云可视性)以及置于客户环境中源码实例(传感器)和工具实例(连接器)内部的Docker容器。软件即服务平台包揽了所有复杂的工作,因此客户无需改变其云架构。

过滤功能和数据包代理通过源码实例中的传感器进行,经过滤的分组数据通过安全的叠加路径发送至安全和监控工具实例中的CloudLens连接器。一个CloudLens传感器可与多种工具相连。

了解更多

‘‘

"Adoption of public cloud services will be limited by the performance and security of enterprise applications and workloads processed in cloud environments. Ixia’s CloudLens Public offers enterprises ‘visibility-as-a-service,' where all of the packet brokering takes place at the source. This could enhance scalability and network agility.”

Jim Duffy, Senior Analyst, 451 Research
‘‘

“Given lack of access to the physical layer, network visibility is a top concern for security professionals charged with securing their organization’s use of the cloud."

Doug Cahill, Sr. Analyst, Enterprise Strategy Group

What is Visibility-as-a-Service (VaaS)?

Visibility-as-a-Service enables IT organizations to access network traffic across their entire infrastructure on demand, whether it resides in a public or private cloud, branch office, campus, or data center.

Network visibility is key to the performance and security of your network and the applications that run on it. However, access to the network to tap into data flows may not always be easy. When workloads transit the public cloud, visibility can be lost. To address this, VaaS is emerging to enable access across any deployment and in particular the public cloud.

Visibility-as-a-Service
Why Visibility-as-a-Service (VaaS)?

IT Organizations choose VaaS to:

  1. Better manage their budget depending on whether they have OpEx or CapEx.  VaaS enables them to have the same granular visibility as their own internal networks but with an OpEx model.
  2. Pay as they go and pay only for what they use based on consumption.  
  3. Enable easy scale up and scale down of their visibility solution to meet current needs.

VaaS Benefits

Public Cloud Shift

Public Cloud Visibility Challenges

Visibility is the foundation for providing application and network performance monitoring as well as security and trouble shooting. Within a traditional data center, IT uses taps and bypass switches (Ethernet/optical), to get packet visibility. In addition packet brokers can be used for advanced packet analysis.

Enterprise applications are currently making a dramatic shift from traditional data centers to the public cloud. Proving visibility and in turn security in such diverse environments has become a huge challenge. The average company uses between 10 and 16 cloud applications according to one business survey. With more and more cloud-based apps, more data is moving outside the traditional data center.

IT needs to focus on security and compliance for their instances and usage, which can best be addressed with a cloud visibility solution. VaaS enables organizations to view their public cloud network traffic in an elastic and scalable manner.

Blind Spots in the Public Cloud

Security needs to see all traffic to be able to be effective.  Public clouds could create blindspots for traditional approaches in visibility.  Beyond that, the way VaaS is implemented can result in significant advantages to the IT department. 

Blindspots in the public cloud

IaaS or SaaS for your VaaS?

When choosing a VaaS solution, the implementation architecture has implications on the effort and resources needed by the IT organization. Some VaaS solutions are implemented as Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS). IT needs to install, configure, and ensure uptime of the visibility solution in the cloud within a virtual machine (VM). Cloud traffic requiring monitoring is transported to the VM. This can quickly drive up the bandwidth used and costs that IT pays to the cloud service provider. 

A more elegant architectural approach is to use a SaaS model that requires minimal IT installation, maintenance, and uptime assurance. Choosing a VaaS implementation that is SaaS-based provides a platform agnostic, scalable and independently accessible anywhere deployment. Whether you are using Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, or Google Cloud, your experience is the same. Lastly, architectures that filter the data in the source instance and only send the needed packets or metadata to the security, performance, or analytics tools, consume much less cloud bandwidth saving IT money.

IaaS versus SaaS models

CloudLens Public: A SaaS Visibility Solution

How CloudLens Works: CloudLens Public Architecture

 

CloudLens Public provides VaaS and is implemented as a SaaS. CloudLens Public uses a serverless architecture with two components: a SaaS with a web-interface where cloud visibility is managed, and a Docker-based container that sits within source instances (sensors) and tool instances (connectors) in a customer’s environment. The SaaS platform does all the heavy lifting, so customers do not have to change their cloud architectures. 

Filtering and packet brokering take place via the sensors in the source instance, and filtered packet data is sent over a secure overlay path, to the CloudLens connector in the security and monitoring tool instances. One CloudLens sensor can route to multiple tools.

FIND OUT MORE

‘‘

"Adoption of public cloud services will be limited by the performance and security of enterprise applications and workloads processed in cloud environments. Ixia’s CloudLens Public offers enterprises ‘visibility-as-a-service,' where all of the packet brokering takes place at the source. This could enhance scalability and network agility.”

Jim Duffy, Senior Analyst, 451 Research
‘‘

“Given lack of access to the physical layer, network visibility is a top concern for security professionals charged with securing their organization’s use of the cloud."

Doug Cahill, Sr. Analyst, Enterprise Strategy Group